How the Auctions Will Work

Welcome to the Leave a Mark Auctions. If you want to know more about how we started or how you even “mark up” a book, please read the About page on top. For now, I just wanted to thank you for stopping by and to let you know that these auctions are coming back in July (if all goes to plan). I used to give all money from these auctions to one charity, but I want to change up the charities this time around so that more people are getting the benefit of these auctions. Plus, I figured people might like to start suggesting charities in the future.

This is how the auctions will work:

  1. Each book will go up for a week. It will be based on EST because that is my time zone. All donations will be in U.S. dollars but you can still bid if you are international, unless otherwise noted on the auction page.
  2. Each auction will appear in its own blog post. The auctions will start at $10 because I want everyone’s donation of a marked up book to make some money. From there, you can bid in $1 increments. That means if someone comments $10, you can post next and say $11, but no less. You can, however, go higher. You can go from $10 to $15 if you want. It’s up to you!
  3. I will get in touch with whoever the highest bidder is once the auction has ended. They will have 48 hours to donate to the designated charity and send me a confirmation email. If they do not do so in this time frame, I’ll contact the second highest bidder.
  4. Once I have gotten confirmation, either I will mail the book to the winner, or the author will do so!

Since I’m doing different charities this time around, I’m going to change it every 3 months.

Meaning: July, August, and September will be one charity and then October, November, and December will be one charity. It will continue in that fashion. If you have charities you want to ‘nominate’ or you are part of a charity, please do get in touch!

Leave a Reply

